Princeton Women | Collegiate Rugby Championship

Princeton Women

Chartered in 1746, Princeton University was North America’s fourth college. In 1896, the university adopted as an informal motto “Princeton in the nation’s service,” the title of a keynote speech by Woodrow Wilson, who helped found the Princeton Rugby Club as a student and soon became Princeton’s 13th president. Today, Princeton athletics aim to complement and enhance the educational mission of the University and to provide student-athletes with the opportunity to achieve, serve and lead. The Princeton Rugby Club was first established in 1876 when Yale, Harvard, Princeton and Columbia formed the Intercollegiate Football Association, which used the “rugby code”. This makes Princeton one of the oldest rugby clubs in North America. By the early 1880s, the game which originated using the rugby code had evolved away from rugby to become American Football. The Princeton men’s rugby team was re-established in 1930. The initial season began on Saturday, April 4, 1931 with a 6-3 victory over Harvard in the Harvard Football Stadium. Over 5,000 people attended this inaugural game. The club has been playing ever since and competes in the Ivy League.  The Princeton women’s rugby team was established in 1979. Since then, PUWRFC has continually placed at the top levels of Division I competition, winning back-to-back national championships in 1995 and 1996, advancing to the Final Four in 1997, 1999, 2000, 2001, 2004 and 2005, and winning many Ivy League championships. More than 35 Princeton women have been named All-Americans. In 2011, 2012, and 2015, Princeton placed 3rd in the USA Rugby Sevens Collegiate National Championships. Led by former USA coaches Chris Ryan and Emil Signes, Princeton is looking forward to competing in the 2016 Penn Mutual Collegiate Rugby Championship.

No matches